What sets us apart?

For capturing SQL Workloads product specific database functions are used. The capturing process is transparent and only realized with the help of methods provided by the native database utilities. For example, by using the Audit Facility, the Event Monitor for DB2 and Auditing for Oracle databases.

The workloads recorded on the source database can be replayed on all relational database systems supporting the JDBC driver. Recorded workloads from different database systems can be replayed.

Before replaying the prepare step, the SQLReplayer transforms the recorded SQL workload into comma-separated files. These files are used as input for the replay function and can easily be modified before starting the replay. For example the recorded workload can be duplicated for executing load tests by the SQLReplayer.

The Speedgain database performance tools can ideally be used for monitoring the replay of the SQL workload. The replayed SQL statements can be separated for each run comparing the results among each other and against the original workload behaviour. For example, you can answer the question of how a certain SQL statement works under different database configurations. The SQLReplayer can also be used independently of the Speedgain Monitoring tools.

What benefits do I have as a customer?

Configuring and tuning a database for optimal performance is the same as tuning a Formula 1 race car for unique race track conditions. In one case one adjusts the engine while the other one modifies the underlying SQL Workoad both having the common objective of high maximum performance.

By applying growth projections upon the current database and server configuration one can determine whether the dimensioning fulfills future size requirements. So for example one can simulate an increasing number of customers and the ability of the infrastructure to support processing windows.

Universal ways for recording and replaying the workload combined with the decoupling from the source database at replay time offer many use case and testing scenarios:
– Comparison of database technologie, e.g. BLU vs non-BLU
– Comparison of parallelism,e.g. MPP vs SMP
– Comparison of OS, e.g. AIX vs Linux

The replaying of recorded workloads offers a view of new database results providing a means to estimate the real cost of migrating the SQL statements.

The SQLReplayer enables one to test potential new infrastructures using the basis of the real production workload. So prior to investing money into new infrastructure such as server systems, networks, storage, cloud services, etc. one can see actual results. A much safer bet than relying on synthetic performance and load tests.

Request trial license

Order SQLReplayer for a trial.

Order here

Technical advice

Phone +49 (0) 511 5151 3700,
email more.about(at)itgain(dot)de

Das zeichnet uns aus.

Für die Aufzeichnung des SQL-Workload werden produktspezifische, native Datenbank-Funktionen eingesetzt. Das Capturing erfolgt transparent und mit vom Datenbank-Hersteller bereitgestellten Verfahren. Zum Beispiel können für DB2 die Funktionen Audit Facility oder Event Monitor, für Oracle das Auditing genutzt werden.

Workloads können auf allen relationalen Datenbanken abgespielt werden, die JDBC-Treiber unterstützen.
Aufgezeichnete Workloads von unterschiedlichen Datenbanken können abgespielt werden.

Vor dem Abspielen wird der aufgezeichnete SQL-Workload in einem Prepare-Schritt in CSV-Dateien überführt. Diese Dateien stellen den Input für den SQLReplayer dar und können bei Bedarf vor dem Abspielen modifiziert werden. Zum Beispiel kann der aufgezeichnete Workload für die Durchführung von Lasttests vervielfältigt werden.

Das Abspielen des aufgezeichneten Workload kann mit den Speedgain Datenbank-Monitoring Werkzeugen ideal überwacht werden. Die vom SQLReplayer abgespielten SQL-Statements können je Replay-Lauf separiert und mit dem Verhalten des Original-Workload oder eines vorherigen Laufs verglichen werden. Damit lässt sich z.B. die Frage beantworten, wie sich ein bestimmtes Statement unter einer anderen Datenbank-Konfiguration verhält. Der SQLReplayer kann aber auch ohne das Speedgain Monitoring verwendet werden.

Was habe ich als Kunde davon?

Vergleichbar mit der Kunst, das optimale Setup für einen Formel 1 Rennwagen für eine Rennstrecke zu finden, verhält es sich mit der optimalen Konfiguration einer Datenbank (Formel 1 Rennwagen). Diese wird bestimmt durch den SQL-Workload (Rennstrecke).

Je nach Bedarf und Ziel kann die aktuelle Konfiguration der Datenbank und des Servers (DB2 Connection) darauf geprüft werden, ob diese mit den künftigen Anforderungen und Größenordnungen ausreichend dimensioniert sind.

Die universellen Möglichkeiten bei Aufzeichnung und Wiedergabe und die Entkopplung von der Source-Datenbank zum Zeitpunkt des Abspielens bieten vielfältige Einsatz- und Testmöglichkeiten:
– Vergleich Datenbanktechnologie, z.B. BLU vs nonBLU
– Vergleich Parallelisierung, z.B. MPP vs SMP
– Vergleich OS, z.B. AIX vs Linux

Das Anwenden des aufgezeichneten SQL-Workload gegen eine neue Datenbank ermöglicht eine Bewertung des Umstellungsaufwands.

Vor Investition in neue Infrastruktur (Server, Netzwerk, Storage, Cloud Services, …) werden oft synthetische Performance- und Lasttests durchgeführt. Der SQLReplayer ermöglicht Tests auf Basis des realen Workload. Werfen Sie einen Blick auf die zukünftige Infrastruktur mit realen Bedingungen und sichern Sie damit Ihre Investition ab.