How can it be used?

Eclipse-based development environments are the standard for development work in the decentralized world. Change and approval processes by the host via tools, such as CA Endevor or Serena ChangeMan, are known, not offered, or only very rudimentary. The CM-Toolset supplements Eclipse-based development environments in these processes and offers functions for the management of source changes and the approval of objects in different environments and levels (development, QS, production).

Development plans (e.g., change request or correction of error) are summarized in packets. These packets form the basis of all change and approval processes.

The CM-Toolset seamlessly integrates as an Eclipse Plugin into all existing Eclipse installations. Integration into known IDEs for decentralized COBOL development, such as Micro Focus Enterprise Developer or COBOL IT Developer Studio, is completely possible. For Eclipse-standard installations, an editor with COBOL syntax highlighting is included. Already available editors can continue to be used.

Developers work with Eclipse and the CM-Tool Plugin in Windows, while compilations and approval of the objects occurs remotely on Unix/Linux servers.

What benefits do I have as a customer?

The developers use a central development environment (IDE) for the administration of field-change packages, compile process, approval in testing, approval of acceptance environments, and production approval.

Different test and integration/acceptance environments and their dependents can be configured freely. In so doing, requirements can be defined such as “No approval after integration without prior approval after development”. Environments can be distributed between different Unix/Linux servers.

Established development environments, such as Micro Focus Enterprise Developer, are supplements with functions for change and approval processes, as with Endevor or ChangeMan.

Experienced host developers who are new to the decentralized world are quick to understand with familiar concepts. Therefore, the training period is correspondingly short.

The objects to be managed (e.g., COBOL module, C modules, shell scripts, etc.) are freely configurable. All actions applied to objects (compile, accept) are adjustable via corresponding scripts. Therefore, there is no restriction to particular programming languages/scripts or other types such as IMS masks.

Für was ist es einzusetzen?

Eclipse-basierte Entwicklungsumgebungen sind Standard für die Entwicklungsarbeit in der dezentralen Welt. Change- und Freigabeprozesse, wie sie vom Host durch Tools wie z.B. CA Endevor oder Serena ChangeMan bekannt sind, werden nicht oder nur sehr rudimentär angeboten. Das CM-Toolset ergänzt Eclipse-basierte Entwicklungsumgebungen um diese Prozesse und bietet Funktionen zur Verwaltung von Sourceänderungen und die Freigabe von Objekten in verschiedene Umgebungen und Stufen (Entwicklung, QS, Produktion).

Entwicklungsvorhaben (z.B. Change Request oder eine Fehlerkorrektur) werden in Paketen zusammengefasst. Diese Pakete bilden die Basis für alle Change- und Freigabeprozesse.

Das CM-Toolset integriert sich als Eclipse Plugin nahtlos in alle bestehende Eclipse Installationen. Die Integration in bekannte IDEs für dezentrale COBOL-Entwicklung wie Micro Focus Enterprise Developer oder COBOL-IT Developer Studio ist problemlos möglich. Für Eclipse Standardinstallationen wird ein Editor mit COBOL Syntaxhervorhebung mitgeliefert, es können aber auch einfach vorhandene Editoren weiter genutzt werden.

Die Entwickler arbeiten mit Eclipse und dem CM-Tool Plugin unter Windows, die Compiles und Freigaben der Artefakte erfolgt Remote auf Unix/Linux Servern.

Was habe ich als Kunde davon?

Die Entwickler nutzen eine eine zentrale Entwicklungsumgebung (IDE) für die Verwaltung von Änderungspaketen, für den Compile, Freigaben in Test- sowie Abnahmeumgebungen und abschließende Produktionsfreigabe.

Die verschiedenen Test- und Integrations-/Abnahmeumgebungen und deren Abhängigkeiten können frei konfiguriert werden. Dabei können Bedingungen wie z.B. „keine Freigabe nach Integration ohne vorherige Freigabe nach Entwicklung“ definiert werden. Die Umgebungen können auf verschiedenen Unix/Linux Servern verteilt sein.

Etablierte Entwicklungsumgebungen wie Micro Focus Enterprise Developer werden um Funktionen für Change- und Freigabeprozesse ergänzt, wie sie von Endevor oder ChangeMan bekannt sind.

Erfahrene Hostentwickler, die neu in die dezentrale Welt einsteigen, finden sich durch die bekannten Konzepte schnell in der neuen Welt zurecht. Die Einarbeitungszeit fällt dadurch entsprechend kurz aus.

Die zu verwaltenden Artefakte (z.B. COBOL-Module, C-Module, Shell Skripte usw.) sind frei konfigurierbar. Alle Aktionen zu den Artefakten (Compile, Freigabe) sind über entsprechende Skripte anpassbar, es gibt damit keine Einschränkung auf bestimme Programmiersprachen-/Skripte oder auch andere Typen wie z.B. IMS Masken.

Technische Beratung

Telefon +49 (0) 511 5151 3700,
E-Mail more.about(at)itgain(dot)de