How can it be used?

Knowledge of IMS database systems is increasingly fading in businesses with time. Hierarchical IMS databases required more maintenance and, in comparison to similar database systems, accessing data is very difficult. As a result of high maintenance and license costs, IMS database systems are very costly. As a result, many clients consider replacing IMS with DB2 or Oracle, be it on the mainframe or a decentralized system, as part of a rehosting project.

Through the integration of an access layer, the logic of the application program is not changed. Access to DB2 or Oracle is straightforward for old application programs via SQL using a data handler. Changes to the application program are restricted to exchanging the existing call interface. This minimizes time and cost spent on the project.

The available IMS database segments are transferred into a DB2 model with the help of tools. This ensures the continued hierarchical relationship of the segments. From the available, PSB, DBD, and copy segment information the corresponding database definitions are automatically generated for the respective target database system. These can then be modified according to individual requirements.

In order to transfer data from IMS to DB2 or Oracle the data must be read from the IMS while observing the hierarchical model. This occurs using special unload or load programs generated on the basis of the identified data definitions. The data are then automatically transferred to the target system.

Architecture of the IM Toolset

Architecture of the IM Toolset
Architecture of the IM Toolset

What benefits do I have as a customer?

Using an access layer, the application programs basically remain unchanged. Adjustment boils down to a purely technical modification of the call interface. This reduces both the cost of changes and also the necessary technical and functional tests. Furthermore, the project risk decreases significantly, as the number of potential error sources is minimized.

IMS is licensed by IBM as MLC (Monthly License Charge) and is a significant cost factor. These licensing costs, and possible further IMS-specific maintenance costs, can be saved as a result of this migration.

The application programs maintain their functional logic. The programs do not become any more complex and, therefore, can be managed and further developed by the same employees.

Request trial licence

Order the IMS Toolset for a trial.

Order here

Technical advice

Phone +49 (0) 511 5151 3700,
email more.about(at)itgain(dot)de

Für was ist es einzusetzen?

Das Wissen über IMS Datenbanksysteme geht in den Unternehmen alterbedingt immer mehr verloren. Hierachische IMS Datenbanken sind in der Wartung aufwendig und – im Vergleich zu relationalen Datenbanksystemen – im Zugriff auf die Daten sehr unflexibel. Bedingt durch hohe Wartungs- und Lizenzgebühren, stellen IMS Datenbanksysteme einen erheblichen Kostenfaktor dar. Daher denken viele Kunden über die Ablösung von IMS durch DB2 oder Oracle nach, sei es auf dem Mainframe oder dezentral im Rahmen eines Rehosting-Projektes.

Durch Einbau einer Zugriffsschicht wird die Logik der Anwendungsprogramme nicht verändert. Der Zugriff auf DB2 oder Oracle erfolgt via SQL mit Hilfe eines Datenhandlers transparent für die alten Anwendungsprogramme. Die Änderung im Anwendungsprogramm beschränkt sich auf den Austausch des bestehende Call-Interfaces. Dies minimiert den Zeit- und Kostenaufwand im Projekt.

Die vorhanden IMS-Datenbanksegmente werden toolgestützt in ein DB2-Datenmodell überführt, welches weiterhin die hierachische Beziehung der Segmente untereinander sicherstellt. Aus den vorhanden PSB-, DBD- und Copystrecken-Informationen werden automatisch die entsprechenden Datenbankdefinitionen für das jeweilige Ziel-Datenbanksystem generiert. Diese können dann nach individuellen Bedürfnissen modifiziert werden.

Um Daten von IMS nach DB2 oder Oracle zu übernehmen, müssen diese unter Wahrung des hierachischen Modells aus IMS gelesen und nach DB2 oder Oracle übertragen werden. Dies geschieht mit Hilfe von speziellen Unload- / Load-Programmen, die auf Basis der gewonnenen Datendefinitionen generiert werden und die Daten automatisch auf das Zielsystem übertragen.

Was habe ich als Kunde davon?

Mit Hilfe einer Zugriffsschicht müssen die Anwendungsprogramme so gut wie nicht modifiziert werden, die Anpassung reduziert sich auf eine rein technische Änderung des Call-Interfaces. Dies reduziert sowohl den Aufwand für die Änderungen, als auch für die technischen und fachlichen Tests erheblich. Darüber hinaus sinkt das Projektrisikio signifikant, da die Anzahl der potentiellen Fehlerquellen minimiert wird.

IMS wird von der IBM als MLC (Monthly Licence Charge) lizenziert und ist ein erheblicher Kostenfaktor. Diese Lizenzkosten und ggf. weitere IMS-spezifische Wartungskosten können durch diese Migration eingespart werden.

Die Anwendungsprogramme behalten ihre fachliche Logik bei. Die Programme werden daher nicht komplexer und können wie bisher von denselben Mitarbeitern gepflegt und weiterentwickelt werden.