How can it be used?

J2U provides JESx functionality via z/OS in a decentralized environment. In the J2U runtime environment, each available z/OS batch job can be carried out without modification on the new target platform Unix, Linux, z/Linux or Windows (optional).
To this end, J2U interprets the JCL and carries it out according to the same rules used via z/OS. The value contained within the JCL domain logic remains unchanged as a result.

To put it briefly: With J2U, your batch production runs just like before but on a different platform.

J2U supports the management of job progress alongside JCL and other scripting languages and, as a result, presents a business-wide integration platform for your batch applications. The following maintained standards apply:

  • Security integration analogous to RACF, optional with connection from LDAP
  • File organization and administration including a central catalogue and an HSM emulation with tiered storage
  • Log and output management including archiving and connection to printing systems
  • Supports various job schedulers
  • Emulation of z/OS Utilities

Alongside log and output files produced by J2U, files can be imported to J2U. To this end, J2U provides an integration platform that unifies and simplifies central administration from both an organizational and a technical point of view.

  • Definition and monitoring of storage periods
  • Definition and execution of post-processing for job output (report creation)
  • Integrated archiving function in file system
  • Integrated interface for diverse archiving, i.e., back-up systems
  • Integrated authorization check

What benefits do I have as a customer?

There are no changes to the domain guidelines governing your batch production such as to the logic and behavior of individual steps within jobs and within job networks. That minimizes the risk and duration of a migration.

Standards for batch processing that have stood the test of time via z/OS over decades are provided by J2U on the centralized platform, also enabling the management of any batch applications. Transfer of these standards to newly developed batch application, such as within a Java-based system, contribute to the consolidation and thereby to the reduction of maintenance expenditure.

With central job, log, and output files, JTU presents the decentralized world with an integration platform for the access and connection to further processing systems.
With J2U, your production planning and management gets a tool that simplifies the monitoring and, in particular, problem analysis in the case of error, thereby improving the efficiency of your employees.

The log and output management integrated into J2U includes functions that can fully meet customer demands.

Cost-intensive implementation of third-party products is no longer necessary.

Für was ist es einzusetzen?

J2U stellt in der dezentralen Welt die unter z/OS von JESx bekannte Funktionalität bereit. In der J2U-Laufzeitumgebung kann auf der neuen Zielplattform Unix, Linux, z/Linux oder optional Windows jeder Ihrer vorhandenen z/OS Batch-Jobs unverändert ausgeführt werden.
Dazu interpretiert J2U die JCL und führt sie nach den gleichen Regeln wie unter z/OS aus. Die in der JCL enthaltene Geschäftslogik bleibt dadurch unverändert.

Kurz gesagt: mit J2U läuft Ihre Batch-Produktion wie bisher, nur auf einer anderen Plattform.

J2U unterstützt zur Steuerung der Job-Abläufe neben JCL auch andere Skriptsprachen und stellt somit eine unternehmensweite Integrationsplattform für Ihre Batch-Applikationen dar. Dabei gelten die bewährten Standards:

  • Security Integration analog zu RACF, optional mit Anbindung von LDAP
  • Dateiorganisation und -verwaltung inkl. zentralem Katalog und HSM-Emulation über Storage-Klassen
  • Log- und Output-Management inkl. Archivierung und Anbindung an Drucksysteme
  • Unterstützung diverser Job-Scheduler
  • Emulation von z/OS Utilities

Außerhalb von J2U erzeugte Log- und Output-Dateien können nach J2U importiert werden. Damit stellt J2U eine Integrationsplattform bereit, mit der die zentrale Verwaltung organisatorisch und technisch vereinheitlicht und vereinfacht wird.

  • Definition und Überwachung von Aufbewahrungsfristen
  • Definition und Ausführung von Post-Processing für Job Output (Report-Erstellung)
  • Integrierte Archivierungsfunktion im File System
  • Integrierte Schnittstelle zu diversen Archivierungs- bzw. Backup-Systemen
  • Integrierte Berechtigungsprüfung

Was habe ich als Kunde davon?

An den Geschäftsregeln Ihrer Batch-Produktion, also an der Logik und dem Verhalten der einzelnen Steps innerhalb von Jobs und der einzelnen Jobs innerhalb von Jobnetzen ändert sich nichts. Das minimiert das Risiko und die Laufzeit einer Migration.

Standards, die sich in der Batch-Verarbeitung unter z/OS jahrzehntelang bewährt haben, stellt J2U auf der dezentralen Plattform, auch zur Steuerung beliebiger Batch-Applikationen, bereit. Eine Übertragung dieser Standards auf neu entwickelte Batch-Applikationen, z.B. innerhalb eines Java-basierten Systems, tragen zur Vereinheitlichung und damit zur Reduzierung des Wartungsaufwands bei.

Mit der zentralen Ablage von Jobs, Log- und Outputdateien stellt J2U in der dezentralen Welt die Integrationsplattform für Zugriffe und für die Anbindung weiterverarbeitender Systeme dar.
Ihre Produktionsplanung und -steuerung erhält mit J2U ein Werkzeug, das die Überwachung und insbesondere die Problemanalyse im Fehlerfall vereinfacht und dadurch die Effizienz Ihrer Mitarbeiter steigert.

Das in J2U integrierte Log- und Outputmanagement enthält Funktionen, mit denen in vielen Kundeninstallationen bereits die Anforderungen vollständig erfüllt werden können.
Der kostenintensive Einsatz von Produkten anderer 3rd Party Anbietern kann entfallen.