How can it be used?

For IMS/TM applications on the mainframe, a compatible run-time environment on Linux and z/Linux is created, so that IMS/TM or CICS is practically no longer needed. As a result, CPU time and license costs on the mainframe can be saved.

Online applications using IMS/TM or CICS can be ported to Linux without major modifications, meaning several Cobol run-time environments can be supported. This means that application programs on the target system generally only need to be recompiled.

The TRX Engine is a lightweight, highly robust, and scalable transaction monitor for Linux and z/Linux. It provides a run-time environment via LINUX whose API is compatible with IMS/TM such as CBLTDLI. CICS support is provided for basic functionality. Extremely short response times and very good load distribution are special characteristics of the TRX Engine.

What benefits do I have as a customer?

Valuable business logic lies in the existing programs. Therefore, new development is often associated with significant expenditure and risk. When carrying out a migration on the TRX Engine, there is no need to modify the programs. This way, expenditure and risk are minimized.

The TRX Engine supports numerous standard interfaces, so that they can be integrated trouble-free into the existing system landscape such as into the TN3270 record, IMS connect adapter, JMX/HTTP, LDAP. On the one hand, this means that classic front-ends can be connected and, on the other hand, that it is easy to integrate into a Java/JavaEE environment. As an operating system, the TRX Engine requires Linux. As a database, DB2 z/OS, DB2 LUW, and Oracle are supported and can be used alongside each other.

With the CM toolset from our product family, the familiar and proven mainframe development process is continued in the decentralized world. The programming language and run-time environment remain practically unchanged, so that employees can make progress in the new environment without expensive training or learning processes. Therefore, getting used to a new programming paradigm or release concept takes no time at all.

Für was ist es einzusetzen?

Für IMS/TM-Anwendungen auf dem Mainframe wird eine kompatible Laufzeitumgebung auf Linux und z/Linux geschaffen, so dass IMS/TM oder CICS praktisch nicht mehr benötigt wird. Dadurch können CPU-Zeiten und Lizenzkosten auf dem Mainframe eingespart werden.

Online-Anwendungen auf Basis von IMS/TM oder CICS können ohne große Modifikationen auf Linux und z/Linux portiert werden, wobei mehrere Cobol-Laufzeitumgebungen unterstützt werden, so dass die Anwendungsprogramme auf dem Zielsystem überwiegend nur neu compiliert werden müssen.

Die TRX-Engine ist ein leichtgewichtiger, sehr robuster und skalierbarer Transaktionsmonitor für Linux. Sie stellt eine Laufzeitumgebung unter Linux zur Verfügung, deren API kompatibel zu IMS/TM ist – beispielsweise CBLTDLI. Die CICS-Unterstützung ist für die Basisfunktionalität gegeben. Extrem kurze Antwortzeiten und sehr gute Lastverteilung sind besondere Eigenschaften der TRX-Engine.

Was habe ich als Kunde davon?

Die wertvolle Businesslogik steckt in den bestehenden Programmen. Daher ist eine Neuentwicklung häufig mit erheblichem Aufwand und großem Risiko verbunden. Bei einer Migration auf die TRX-Engine müssen die Pogrammme nicht modifiziert werden, so dass Aufwand und Risiko minimiert werden.

Die TRX-Engine unterstützt zahlreiche Standard-Schnittstellen, so dass sie problemlos in die bestehende Systemlandschaft integriert werden kann, zum Beispiel das TN3270-Protokoll, IMS-Connect-Adapter, JMX/HTTP, LDAP. So können einerseits klassische Frontends angebunden werden, und andererseits ist eine Ieichte Integration in Java/JavaEE-Umgebung möglich. Als Betriebssystem setzt die TRX-Engine Linux voraus. Als Datenbank werden DB2 z/OS, DB2 LUW und Oracle unterstützt, auch als Mischbetrieb.

Mit dem CM-Toolset aus unserer Produktreihe wird der bekannte und bewährte Entwicklungsprozess vom Mainframe in der dezentralen Welt fortgeführt. Die Programmiersprache und die Laufzeitumgebung bleiben praktisch unverändert, so dass die Mitarbeiter ohne aufwendige Schulungsmaßnahmen und Lernprozesse ihre Arbeit in der neuen Umgebung fortsetzen können. Die Gewöhnung an ein neues Programmierparadigma oder Releasekonzept entfällt somit.