What sets us apart

A complete picture of the DB server is prepared. Often, pure database monitoring is not enough for analysis. Information from the point of view of the operating system complete all the evaluation possibilities.

As a basis for optimization in accordance with use, the SQL workload that is available in the database is evaluated and filed optimally for analysis purposes. The user is provided with the means to analyze the aggregated SQL behavior.

Different system resources (e.g., CPU, network, I/O) are continually monitored and objectively assessed using lightweight performance pings. Weaknesses in the system performance can be identified independent of the application load.
In addition, different systems can be compared with each other using objective assessment criteria.

Communication between the client and database server is monitored. This means both latency and bandwidth are considered.

The consequent integration of proven methods of analysis helps the user in effectively solving problems. By a process of elimination, the bottleneck resource is recognized and, using the causal principle, the responsible factor identified.

Easy installation without agents, low system requirements, and minimal application of system resources make for quick set-up.

Causal analysis is supported optimally by providing an overview of all necessary performance data. In addition, necessary functions, such as alarms and status monitors, are available for 24/7 operation.

What benefits do I have as a customer?

The performance of all services provided by the database is made transparent for the whole system. This allows assessment of database performance in the context of overall performance.

During a causal analysis in the database area, all necessary historical information from the database server is made available. Database performance data and data from the operating system and the network form part of this process. This enables a retroactive and complete analysis of specific problems and leads to improved database service quality.

Seemingly harmless SQLs that are executed frequently may affect the performance of a database strongly – similar to thousands of pinpricks or a swarm of locusts. This is precisely because, if they are taken in isolation, they are “small and inconspicuous” and are not perceived in SQL analysis and reports, even though they consume a lot of the total resources.

Through the analysis of the whole SQL workload, this swarm intelligence is made visible and the production of indexes much more efficient.

Like the canary in the coal mine, Speedgain detects changes in system performance early on. This enables greater system availability and proactive capacity management.

Through monitoring the produced database performance, it can be quickly detected whether there is a problem in the database or not. Protracted analysis leading to a conclusion of “it must be somewhere else” are superfluous.

All support and development is provided from Germany. In a worse-case scenario, there are experienced DBAs at your side who are able to set up Speedgain themselves.

Employees require less time for familiarization, as all Speedgain products are built in the same intuitive way. Usage is more efficient, and the quality of the service is improved.

Das zeichnet uns aus.

Es wird ein komplettes Bild des gesamten DB-Servers bereitgestellt. Häufig reicht ein reines Datenbankmonitoring zur Analyse nicht. Informationen aus Sicht des Betriebssystems und Netzwerks vervollständigen die Auswertungsmöglichkeiten.

Als Basis für eine bedarfsgerechte Optimierung wird der in der Datenbank vorhandene SQL Workload ausgewertet und für Analysezwecke optimiert abgelegt. Dem Benutzer werden Mittel zur Analyse des aggregierten SQL Verhaltens bereitgestellt.

Verschiedene Systemressourcen (z.B. CPU, Netzwerk, I/O) werden durch kontinuierliche, leichtgewichtige Performance-Pings überwacht und objektiv bewertet. Schwankungen in der Systemperformance können unabhängig von der vorhandenen Applikationslast identifiert werden. Zusätzlich lassen sich verschiedene Systeme anhand objektiver Bewertungskriterien untereinander vergleichen.

Die Kommunikation zwischen Client und Datenbankserver wird überwacht. Dabei wird sowohl die Latenz als auch die Bandbreite berücksichtigt.

Die konsequente Integration der bewährten Analyseverfahren hilft dem Benutzer bei der effizienten Problemlösung. Durch das Ausschlussverfahren wird die Bottleneck-Ressource erkannt, mithilfe des Verursacherprinzips der Verantwortliche identifiziert.

Eine einfache Installation ohne Agenten, geringe Systemvoraussetzungen und minimale Belastung der Systemressourcen sorgen für eine schnelle Akzeptanz.

Durch die übersichtliche Bereitstellung aller benötigten Performancedaten wird eine Ursachenanalyse optimal unterstützt. Zusätzlich sind die für den 24/7 Betrieb notwendigen Funktionen wie Alarmierungen und Status Monitor vorhanden.

Was habe ich als Kunde davon?

Die Leistung des von der Datenbank erbrachten Services für das Gesamtsystem wird transparent gemacht. Dadurch wird die Bewertung der Datenbankleistung im Kontext der Gesamtperformance ermöglicht.

Für eine Ursachenanalyse im Datenbankbereich werden alle benötigten Informationen des Datenbankservers historisch bereitgestellt. Dazu gehören neben den Performancedaten der Datenbank auch Daten des Betriebssystems und Netzwerks. Dies ermöglicht eine rückwirkende, ganzheitliche Analyse von Problemsituationen und hat eine Qualitätsverbesserung des Datenbankservices zur Folge.

Vermeintlich harmlose SQLs können bei häufiger Ausführung die Performance einer Datenbank stark beeinträchtigen – vergleichbar mit tausenden von Nadelstichen oder einem Heuschreckenschwarm. Gerade weil sie für sich genommen „klein und unauffällig“ sind, werden sie bei SQL Analysen und in Reports nicht wahrgenommen, obwohl sie in Summe einen Großteil der Ressourcen verbrauchen.

Durch die Analyse des gesamten SQL Workloads wird dieser Heuschreckenschwarm sichtbar gemacht und das Erzeugen von Indexen deutlich effizienter.

Wie der Kanarienvogel in der Kohlemine erkennt Speedgain Veränderungen in der Systemperformance frühzeitig. Das ermöglicht eine höhere Systemverfügbarkeit sowie ein proaktives Kapazitätsmanagement.

Durch Überwachung der erbrachten Datenbankleistung kann schnell erkannt werden, ob ein Problem in der Datenbank liegt oder nicht. Langwierige Analysen mit dem Ergebnis „Es muss woanders liegen“ sind überflüssig.

Der Support und die Entwicklung wird komplett in Deutschland geleistet. Im Fall der Fälle stehen Ihnen erfahrene DBAs zur Seite, die Speedgain selbst produktiv einsetzen.

Es ist weniger Einarbeitungsaufwand für die Mitarbeiter notwendig, da alle Speedgain Produkte gleichartig und intuitiv aufgebaut sind. Die Verwendung wird effizienter und die Qualität der erbrachten Leistung verbessert.